If you just got yourself a few PixelStix and aren’t quite sure how to use them, you’ve come to the right place. Here you’ll find the basics of how to use the PixelStix app to assign and clear content on your PixelStix so you can start creating and connecting! This video provides a brief overview of how PixelStix work.

Assigning Content

Assigning content is the main action involved with setting up a PixelStix sticker. What you’re doing is telling the sticker what should show up when someone scans it in the future. There are many options for the kind of content that can be added. You can chose to upload a video from your phone, YouTube, or Vimeo; a photo from your phone’s gallery; or to link to a particular website. Once assigned, any person who scans the sticker with the app will be taken straight to the content you chose.

To start, you will need to download the PixelStix app from your phone’s app store and open the app.

 

 

 

 

Once you are in the app, scan the PixelStix by tapping the logo in the middle of the screen then placing the top back part of your phone over the sticker closely. You can see this being done in the video above.

If the PixelStix you scan is new and has no content on it yet, it will bring you to a menu which allows you to choose what kind of content you would like to upload. For example, if you want to upload a video from your phone, you will select “Upload Video.”

Select the video from your phone’s gallery and  tap “Choose” in the bottom-right corner.

It may take a minute or two to upload the video if it is long, but you will be able to see a progress bar of the upload. When it is done, you will get a “Successfully Assigned” message and you’re done with the setup. Now if you scan the PixelStix again, the video you chose will play.

Clearing Content

The content assigned to your PixelStix can be changed at any time. In order to do that, you will first need to clear the content that is currently assigned.

From the main screen, tap the gear icon on the bottom right to access the settings menu, then select “Clear.”

This will return you to the home screen but a message will be displayed letting you know that the next scan will clear the contents of the PixelStix.

TIP: If you enter this mode accidentally or decide not to clear, you can exit the clearing mode by tapping the ‘next scan will clear content’ message to make it disappear.

 

Scan the PixelStix you wish to clear and you will get a confirmation message that the clear was successful. You can now assign content to the sticker again as if it were new.